A Kimono Outerwear

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I am thankful that while I was planning to sew some quick projects for last year’s holidays, that the baby was cooperative (she sleeps so early these days! hurray!) They have to be really simple projects that can be done in a couple of hours. Since MeMadeMay’15, I have been wanting to make an outerwear of some sort. I decided to try this 30min Kimono project. I followed the instructions provided but made a few changes.

1. The fabric I used is 1.5m by 60″

2. I also neaten the non-selvage sides (which is where the opening of the sleeves are), by folding in about 1.5cm and sew with a zig-zag stitch.

It could be because of my small(er) built, a piece of 60″ fabric is a tad long for me. A piece of 55″ might work better. The husband commented that it looked like some ancient China drama outfit. Ha! However, I am enjoying the slack of such an extremely loose fit outerwear.

Fabric is a Copacabana Stretch Crochet Chevron Lace Teal (name copied from the website) from fabric.com which I purchased about a year ago. This is my first time sewing with a knit material of any sort and it isn’t as scary as it sounds. All I did was to change the needle to a ballpoint one. I also used zig-zag stitches throughout.

Well this project did take me a little longer than 30minutes because I had to figure certain things out along the way. But who cares! I made something in one night, no, less than an hour’s time!

Leave a Reply

