Maternity Pencil Skirt

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

While the month of January is traditionally used to sew a new cheongsam for CNY, I got distracted by my lack of maternity clothes and this amazing tutorial that I found. Quite out of point from the target o set at the beginning of the year (I blame the hormones) but at least the workshop is still very much functioning!

I have been reading cottonandcurls for a while and she is totally amazing. She has quite a number of tutorials on sewing DIY that doesn’t even require a pattern! I took the idea from one of her tutorials and made my own maternity skirt!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

 

A few things I learned:

1. I read online that I should change to a ballpoint needle when sewing jersey knit. I didn’t and it turned out okay.

2. I also used my pencil skirt pattern for this project instead of tracing it out from an existing one. Not sure if it’s a maternity wear (can’t differentiate between baby and fats. Ha!) or I’m using jersey knit which sits nicely on the belly, I end up taking in a couple of inches at the waist for a better fit. Still working on the ideal ease allowance.

3. Jersey knit curls! It is best to cut and sew immediately.

I forsee that this skirt would be a staple for now until I decide to do something to the post partum body. It might even be a good non-maternity pencil skirt because it helps to keep the tummy in place!

Leave a Reply

