A 30-Minute Kaftan and a Mini Tutorial

IMG_8584

A kaftan cover up is a necessity at every beach holiday. I found this on Pinterest and I wanted the exact same one for mine! After ransacking my stash I found 2 yards of plain turquoise cotton. Great! Now I just need some pom-pom. Strange thing is that I can’t find dark pink pom-pom trims at the local craft stores but got some crochet lace instead.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Just as when I was figuring out the math of the tutorial, I decided to ditch the original and make a rectangle one instead. What I did was to:

  1. Fold the fabric in half along the selvage and cut out 20cmX30cm on each side. Sew along the edge.
  2. Fold the half in Step 1 into another half, parallel to the selvage and cut out the neckline. Neaten neckline with biased tape
  3. Attach the crochet lace along the ‘arm hole’ and the neckline.

All done in 30 minutes!

Screen Shot 2016-01-06 at 5.04.08 pm

*not drawn to scale

 

Leave a Reply

