Fabric Shopping in Australia: Perth etc

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Fabric shopping during this trip was both a pleasant surprise and rewarding. Prior to the trip, I contacted Carolyn from handmadebycarolyn on fabric shops in Perth and surrounds. She kindly provided me with a comprehensive list coupled with their locations on Googlemap on the shops that she knows of/visits. Armed with that list, I only plan to shop in Perth/Fremantle. However as we journey along, I also found 2 other shops located at 2 different quaint little towns. I was ecstatic!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

#1 Potter’s Textiles
3 Auckland Street
North Perth, Western Australia 6006
Opening hours: Mon to Fri 0900 to 1600

While at Perth, I planned to shop at Potter’s, and if time permits Fabulous Fabrics. I only made one stop at the former and man, it was really good enough. Potter’s is not exactly a fabric shop but more like a warehouse. The fabric swatches are displayed neatly on the rack at the shop front for you to browse through.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

There are also end of bolt and other discounted bundled fabrics placed in the bins for you to select from.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Once you have made your selection, let the staff know and they will proceed to the back to cut and prepare your fabrics.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Prices at Potter’s are also very affordable, average of AUD12 and above. Fabrics are of various width. Those that I selected are about 50″ and above. That made me a very happy shopper! I spent about AUD100.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

That made me a very happy shopper! I spent about AUD100.

 

IMG_0069

#2 Sew Gentle Era
91 Hampton Street
Bridgetown, Western Australia
Opening hours: Mon-Fri 0930 to 1700

While driving through Bridgetown to Ballingup, I thought I saw what looked like a fabric store. While planning for our itinerary at the region, we did a google street view and it confirmed what I spotted! Off to Bridgetown we go. I was really elated to find such a well-stocked fabric shops here in a quaint little town. Fabrics are sorted according to colours.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

They also have a variety it wool, notions and other knitting stuff.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

IMG_0083

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

IMG_0076

 

A major bonus point of this fabric shop is that there is little corner for children to entertain themselves!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Most fabrics are American. I spotted quite a number of Timeless Treasures. This is one shop that I truly enjoy to shop at!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Besides these two fabric shops, I also happen to chance upon a knitting shopping in Denmark. They have a small collection of fabrics but pretty expensive. I also found basic cotton at Denmark Shopping Center.

 

2 thoughts on “Fabric Shopping in Australia: Perth etc

  1. Thanks for coming to visit our store and thankyou so much for your lovely review!
    Your photos are lovely! Hope the rest of your trip goes well.
    happy stitching from Anne @ Sew Gentle Era

Leave a Reply

