Black Forest Breakfast Smoothie 

Sometime during my maternity leave last year, I sort of pledged to eat cleaner and was carried away by all the delicious recipes from Pinterest. It was the time when I honed my cooking skills and perfect my smoothie recipes. One of the most amazing discovery during the smoothie making days was breakfast smoothies. It is basically smoothies with oats, like a blended overnight oats. I have it as my breakfast on the go, especially on busier mornings when I don’t have time to sit down and eat my breakfast, or when I don’t really feel like eating oats. Drinking oats is definitely a lazier option. Oops!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

 

For the first school day of 2016, I made a black forest breakfast smoothie.
You will need:
1 cup frozen cherries, pitted
1/4 cup rolled oats
1/4 cup youghurt (optional if you don’t fancy the sour taste)
1/4 cup milk (more if not using yoghurt)
A sprinkle of dark chocolate chips

How to:
Place the ingredients in a high speed blender and blend till smooth.

You might not get a tofu silky smooth consistency as there are oats. But you can also pre-soak the oats in milk to soften it. I also blend the ingredients in my baby food processor which I find does a better job than the high speed blender I have.

If you prefer your smoothie to be a little thicker, you can add lesser milk. But add enough to keep the blender going.

It is also not a must to use frozen fruits but I don’t like to add ice to my smoothies and the taste is often diluted. Hence I will freeze the fruits which I often buy in bulk especially when they are in season or on offer.

I am also pretty excited that our little friend is taking the texture of such smoothies well and I’ll usually make an extra portion for her as breakfast or snack.

Leave a Reply

