An Apple Tree Farm Sensory Bin

So the holidays have begun which means spending lots of time with our little friend. The husband had to return back to school for a couple of days so it was home alone with our little friend. Truth to be told, I was a little scared as it has been some time since we spent alone time together. While planning a rough schedule and activities for her, I found some expired oats and decided to put together an apple tree farm sensory bin.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I grew made some apple tress using cupboard, felt and pompom,

IMG_5899

and put together whatever apple stuff I can find at home. I also used a tiny bit of apple food flavouring to enhance the smell of this fun bin. In the midst of putting this bin together while our friend is awake, I forgot to include the cinnamon stick which would have added another dimension to the sensory play.

The apple tree farm kept her entertained for a good 30-45 mins. It took her some time to warm up to the farm and figure about how it is supposed to work. She went straight for the oats and I guided her to scoop and transfer.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

After a few rounds of practice, she could do it all by herself!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I also talk her through the items in the bin: tree, green, apple, big, small, red, furry, smooth, pink, yellow, pail, scoop, spade etc.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Yes it did get messy but oats are easier to clean up than I expected. I didn’t even sweep it up, just scoop with my hand.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I had fun watching her play and she had fun playing! To more sensory bins and beyond!

Leave a Reply

