The “Casual Snow White” Tank

I have been wearing my blush blouse a little too often lately and I needed another basic that I can rotate it with. Then I unearthed this little treasure that I have been keeping in my stash – a vintage (I assume?) white cotton gifted from my grandmother-in-law. What shall I make then?

IMG_5523

I came across this, which I thought would be perfect for a little sunsandseasweetheart adventure at the end of the year! A basic blouse, minus the sleeves.

 

This blouse is drafted based on a basic V-neck pattern that I learned from my beginner’s sewing class, with some adjustments made in the waist and the shoulders. It is lined with French Dior in off-white to add a warm undertone beneath the sheer cotton.

IMG_5639

I particularly love the embroidered scallop hem on the main fabric.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

It has a raw organic look, while the French Dior provides a lustrous comfort on the inside, which I absolutely love! The lining was attached in the concealed manner, which gives it a polished look even from the underside. It was a mess when I attempted it the first time so this time round, I documented a tutorial on attaching a concealed lining.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Because the v-neck provided an opening that is large enough for my head to pass through, this blouse does not require a zipper. Yay! To more basics like this, without zippers!

IMG_5601

Leave a Reply

