The Nursing Dress

IMG_1433
I was cracking my brain on what to wear for Teachers’ Day lunch this year. Since Singapore is celebrating our 50th year of independence, the theme was Uniquely Singapore to go along with all things SG50. First thing that came to mind was red and white. Brushing that aside, I thought of Ong Shunmugam, a Singapore fashion label by Priscilla Shunmugam which I can’t afford. Her designs are known for the innovative integration of Asian elements such as the use of traditional textiles and shape.

Brainstorming along this line, a more affordable and feasible option would be to make myself a new outfit: cheongsam made with batik in a modern shift dress cutting. Colours are also red and white. A little cliché but fits the theme.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Fabric is from a beautiful piece of batik which I bought from Lucy’s Batik when I was in Bali. The husband picked it up and we planned it for a handmade family outfit. It was very easy to work with and the cotton is extremely breathable and forgiving in Singapore’s weather.

IMG_1183

The shift dress pattern is drafted from my basic bodice block, extending the flare with the waist. It is also my very first me-made nursing dress! I have been putting aside wearing dresses for the past year because I am breastfeeding our little friend. Wearing separates seem a lot more convenient. So I’m really glad I can return to my love for dresses even when I’m out with our little friend.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

The construction of the nursing portion requires me to be really neat in sewing at the concealed zip so that it is not vulgar and obvious at all. Once I am done with breastfeeding, I can also remove the zip and stitch up the hole. I might just start making lots of dresses again! I will be sharing with you  very soon a tutorial on how to modify your bodice pattern to a nursing friendly one, just like this one that I made. 

Leave a Reply

