Fabric Shopping in Singapore: Ang Mo Kio

I was running errands at Ang Mo Kio Central and discovered a fabric shop! Wow, I never knew that Ang Mo Kio has one. I am so surprised because I am not unfamiliar with Ang Mo Kio. Looks that I’m not that familiar after all. Since I frequent one of the haberdashery shop in the area, I am going to share with you these hidden gems in the heartland of Ang Mo Kio.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
#1 Kar Bee Ang Mo Kio Textiles
720 Ang Mo Kio Avenue 6
#01-4112
Singapore 560720

Opens from around 1100-1630
Closed on Monday

Kar Bee has a sizeable shopfront, selling a variety of fabric. They have plain and printed (polka dots, checkered, floral and cartoon) cotton, shirtings, some laces (from Japan according to the owner) and the really mature prints for grandma blouses. Prices are for cotton rather reasonable, not outrageously expensive, starting from $4.50/m. The laces are about $18.50/m and the shirtings from $28/m. If you stay in Ang Mo Kio, or happen to be in the vicinity, and feel like buying some fabrics, you might like to check it out.

 

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
#2 Elsie Departmental Store
709 Ang Mo Kio Ave 8
#01-2607
Singapore 560709

Opens from 1030-2030

I used to frequent this shop very often, during the very early stages of my jewellery making days. I used to sell handmade jewellery to earn some extra pocket money. Now that I am sewing clothes, Elsie is my best friend whenever I need some last minute supplies. Besides jewellery making supplies (rhodium parts, swarovski crystals and pearls etc), they are very well-stocked with a wide variety of yarns, ribbons, trims, threads, zips, beads, some buttons and other craft materials.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

IMG_0999-0

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Basically it is a departmental store of craft supplies. Elsie also conducts knitting lessons, which is quite popular. On top of that, they have a small selection of knitting patterns available for copy.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Now besides Chinatown and Arab Street, you have one other option (though location is not really central) for fabric shopping in Singapore!

Screen Shot 2015-09-01 at 12.42.08 pm

 

2 thoughts on “Fabric Shopping in Singapore: Ang Mo Kio

  1. Thank you for sharing, I was able to find the shop with the help of your post. Will save me many trips to spotlight, such great news!

  2. Pingback: Un samedi couture | Quechua Land (in Singapore)

Leave a Reply

