Wearing Fields of Lavender and Pink Dandelion

IMG_0849
Finally our little friend is able to fit into the first dress I made for her, which calls for a little celebration so we dressed up in mama-daughter outfit combination for a picnic with our friends. This is our only matching outfit: me in frilly sorbetto and hers in a test pattern that I drafted.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Fabric is a field of pink dandelion and lavender from Liberty which I bought from Tissus Reine in Paris. It gotta be one of the softest  that I’ve ever sewn with. Initially I planned to sew a simple sundress with it. Since I have to share yardage with the mini version, I decided to go with a tunic instead. Fabric is extremely breathable, which is very suitable for the hot and humid weather in Singapore.

Kindly pardon the untidy creases

Kindly pardon the untidy creases

I made the dress for our little friend while I was pregnant, with zero knowledge of sizing for babies. So I decided to test the pattern for a size 0 from a Japanese pattern book that I have. The next size is size 2 for 2yo so size 0 it is. Since our little friend is a premmie, she is a little small in size and took some time to be able to fill up the spaces of this roomy dress/top. The other time I dressed her up in it was in March, and the dress was loose so neckline was drooping a little. It is still a little low but fits a lot better. Haha. I might just dress her up in this a little more often before she outgrows it!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Leave a Reply

