The Black Flare Skirt;

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

This year I wanted to sew a lot more basic staple pieces to add to my wardrobe. To be more specific, I need more basic skirts and blouses so that I can wear separately so that they are a little more breastfeeding friendly. I have already made two pencil skirts (1 plain and 1 printed) and it is time for a different skirt shape: my favourite flare skirt. I decided on black because I want a plain black skirt. I drew inspirations from the following outfits, some exuding a bit of French flair with the stripes and basic colours:

The skirt is made from a material called rose skin, which feels so much like the texture of rose petals! It is a heavy fabric (I wouldn’t want to deal with flying skirt with a baby in tow), falls and drapes nicely and have a matt finish. It is another versatile number, which I can dress up or down with. I also selected a modest knee length, which is much more convenient as a mummy on duty and for teaching. I wouldn’t want to worry about exposing myself when I bend over or chase after my baby!

IMG_0174

I also used an interfacing to tidy up the waist line, instead of the usual waist band.

IMG_0256

 

Leave a Reply

