Me Made Holiday: Keihoku-Kyoto-Osaka, Japan

I had lots of fun last month in MeMadeMay and I decided to extend it to Me Made Holiday for my Japan trip in June. I had done 2 Me Made Holiday for my previous holidays, and I thought why not try again! The greatest concern for a Me Made Holiday is the temperature of our holiday destination. So far, it has been rather friendly or familiar to my me-made closet. Packing for this trip is a little tricker for various reasons:
– I need to wear separates because I am going to be breastfeeding her
– Clothes to be baby friendly: colour, style etc
– I want to pack light
– As me-made as possible

As weather seems to be fluctuating between 17degC (in the mountains) to 29degC (in the city), I decided to pack my usuals, a parka for rainy days and a cardigan for cooler days (if I need to keep myself warm). All in all, I brought along 5 tops, 2 skirts, 1 pants, 1 leggings, 2 outerwear. Out of these combinations, thre are 3 blouses and 2 skirts that are me-made.

Day 1: Favourite nude blouse, something comfortable for a long day of traveling and loose for breastfeeding.
Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

 

Day 2: I made a new blouse as my June project, to go with leggings for trekking and exploring Keihoku and Miyama. I will share on this soon.
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

 

Day 3: Massimo Dutti Inspired  Lace Skirt. Something more airy for the warmer weather as we travel from Keihoku to Kyoto and visit the Ginkakuji-Philosopher’s Walk.

IMG_8826

 

Day 4: Rewore the blouse to go with pants for Kinkakuji, Nijio Castle, (fabric) shopping in Kyoto downtown on a rather chilly day in the afternoon. No photos because it got lost somewhere during the teansfering from phone and such. You need to imagine the combination.

 

Day 5: Batik Pencil Skirt to Fushimi Inari.
IMG_8825

 

Day 6: Nude blouse and Batik Pencil Skirt for Arashiyama and traveling to Osaka.
IMG_8824

Day 7: All black, lace on lace ensemble for Kaiyoukan and shopping in Osaka downtown – Fury Baroque-esque Blouse and Massimo Dutti inspired lace skirt.
IMG_8822

Day 8: Batik Pencil Skirt again for Dontonburi and Home Sweet Home. Pardon the creases. We did our laundry but there was no iron.
IMG_8821

 

Me made outfit combination is really addictive. It spurs me on to wanting to sew more so that I have a me-made item to wear everyday! Time is really the factor that doesn’t allow me to sew. There is simply many other things to do, especially with a baby. One stitch at a time mummy!

Leave a Reply

