The Pencil Skirt

First project of the year is a simple pencil skirt. It’s a basic skirt that works for me, which I discovered very recently. I have no idea what took me so long to sew a pencil skirt for myself! I used to shun away from it because I thought it’s only for people with smaller and skinner frames. Oh I am so wrong! I love it how it brings out the curves and smoothens the thighs. It can be worn on a casual day out and as a formal work wear, depending on the material and the entire ensemble. It’s so versatile!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
I sew my first pencil skirt last year, for a wedding, as part of a two-piece ensemble which didn’t turn out as pleasantly as expected (So no photos for that!). However the individual pieces are lovely as they are. I love the pencil skirt especially. It is made from duchess satin. It was the first time I worked with duchess, man, it was such a beautiful experience! Unlike silk satin, duchess satin doesn’t slip as easily. It is also very luxe, and not as shiny. Though it may fray rather easily, this can be solved by overlocking the pieces with a serger.  For this particular skirt, I took in quite a few inches at the hem. It was comfortable to wear, no problems when walking but there was some restrictions when getting up and down the stairs. I decided to reduce the amount to take it for my second pencil skirt.

IMG_7328
For the second skirt, I selected a printed cotton, which I bought from Kluang a couple of years ago. It’s in a vibrant red batik print, just what I need for my dull wardrobe and as I reminisce the time spent in Bali. Disclaimer: My skirt has been ironed! I just seem to smoothen it out for a creaseless photo.

Now that I have a staple solid and printed skirt that works for me, I will definitely need more additions to my wardrobe, such as a basic black one like what Amanda Seyfried wore in her role in Letters to Julia. I will also be sewing more skirts, bringing back Project MNS!

4 thoughts on “The Pencil Skirt

  1. Jessie H says:

    This is so versatile and it fits you so well! Is it self -drafted or did you use a pattern?

    I haven’t dared to try sewing with satin yet – do you know where I can get duchess satin in sg? I might give it a try (:

  2. YX says:

    Hi Jessie, thank you for your kind words! The skirt is self-drafted: I used a basic skirt block and did some modifications for the kick pleat at the back. For satin, normal satin, it is actually very slippery and it may slip while sewing so it could be a little tricky. For duchess, it is slightly kinder to all of us.

    Malin has some in stock. Or you can try Zhi Yong from People’s Park Market too! Have fun and let me know how it went for you! 🙂

    • Jessie H says:

      Ooh thanks so much for the tip! I still have a lot of trouble navigating Chinatown – sometimes it feels like the only fabric they have in stock is cotton! xD

      • YX says:

        Mostly cotton but there are some hidden stashes too. Cotton is not too bad to work with. Very friendly for SG’s weather haha. Let me know if you need help. We can go fabric shopping together one of these days 🙂

Leave a Reply

