Fabric Shopping in Singapore: Chinatown

I have written about fabric finds during my travels, but never about what is offered back at home. I have details of my favourite stores under Fabric Finds but never shared about them in details. Moreover, I have a couple of friends who asked me about the fabric hunts in Singapore, so I thought of sharing it with you.

38674_462349881398_5914960_n

There are a few places to get fabrics in Singapore: fabric market in People’s Park Market, fabric street at Arab Street and Spotlight in Plaza Singapura. My favourite place to go to is the fabric market located on the second floor of People’s Park Market, mainly for its very affordable price and variety. So how can I get there?

How to get there
The nearest MRT station is Chinatown, which is on the purple North-East Line. Take the exit C to People’s Park Market. There are MANY buses that can bring you to the area but the mrt is the most straightforward. Once you get out of the MRT station you will see the People’s Market right in front of you! The second floor of the People’s Park Market houses corridors and corridors of fabric and/or notion stores. Every time I need fabric for my new projects, I would frequent 2 of my favourite stores, see what they have to offer before I go around and hunt for the most suitable fabric if they don’t have it.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

#1 Maggie Textile
32 New Market Road
#02-1078 Peoples Park Food Centre S050032
Tel: 65353682
Opening Hours: 12pm?-6pm

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

This shop is recommended to me/us when I first started dressmaking. Everyone from Kadomay goes to Maggie. It is where we purchase our first piece of fabric, for most of us, or myself at least. The owner is the very friendly Maggie, who is not pushy. She recommends the best which her shop offers. However if there is nothing suitable, she will not push for the sale to close and might even recommend over shops if she knows of any. Maggie is well stocked with a WIDE variety of fabric, from plain solids to gorgeous prints. Many of which are imported from Japan. When I first visited Maggie, she only owns one shop front. Now she has expanded to 2 adjacent shop fronts. Prices start from $8/m on the average. If you are lucky, you might even find some on sale at a lower price

#2 Malin Textile
32 New Market Road
#02-1122/1134 Peoples Park Food Centre S050032
Tel: 6535 4660
Opening Hours: 12pm?-6pm

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

My next favourite is Malin Textile. Malin is the daughter of Maggie! There are 2 shop fronts but #02-1122 is the unit that I frequent the most. Unit 1134 is managed by Maggie’s other daughter, which carries a variety of Hello Kitty and other Sanrio fabrics as well. If you are a fan of Hello Kitty and other Sanrio characters, that is where you should be heading. As compared to Maggie, the Malin that I go to carries a lot more printed, sometimes cuter, fabrics which appeals to the younger crowd. She also has some precut fabrics which are in limited quantities, perfect for craft work and smaller projects such as a simple blouse or baby clothes.

#3 Lye Nai Shiong
(Opposite Maggie Textile)
32 New Market Road
#02-1106 Peoples Park Food Centre S050032
Tel: 6532 6013
Opening Hours: 12pm?-6pm

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

If you prefer to purchase your notions and haberdasheries all in the same building, Lye Nai Shiong is your one stop store. They are well stocked with your basics, such as zips, threads, ribbons, carbon paper, ruler scissors, pins, roller, laces, elastic bands etc. When the old Mr Lye used to mend the store, I don’t really fancy buying from him because he tends to be a little rude. You know, the kind of ‘if you want you take it, if not it’s okay’ kind of attitude. However since his son (I think. There is a younger chap working there now) took over, transactions have been smoother, and help is rendered rather amiably.

#4 Brighton
32 New Market Road
#02-1160 Peoples Park Food Centre S050032
Tel: 6532 1016
Opening Hours: 10am-8pm, daily

Brighton is another one stop store where you should be able to get all your notions and other supplies. It carries slightly trendier products than Lye Nai Shiong. I love the variety of lace trimmings and buttons that they carry. They also have been bringing in fabrics but I have yet to checked them out.

#5 Sing Mui Heng
Upper Cross Street
#01-05A, People’s Park Centre
S058357
Tel: 65332445
Business hours: Monday – Saturday
11am to 8pm

IMG_6810

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Photos are not allowed at Sin Mui Heng and I only managed to snap this with my baby in my arms. Sin Mui Heng is located in the adjacent building to People’s Park Market, across the street. However you can get there via covered link bridge from the 3rd level at the Market. I personally prefer to shop here for my notions. It’s large, well stocked, lots of staff to help when you need and I have the member card! They used to sell just notions, supplies, crystals and other craft supplies, but have expanded over the recent years to also include fabrics and quilting materials. They carry a variety of American Fabrics such as Moda, Riley Black, Michael Miller, Robert Kaufman, RJR ETC.

#6 Golden Dragon
101 Upper Cross Street
#02-51 People’s Park Centre
Singapore 058357
Tel: 6535 8454/6535 8234
Fax: 6534 2465
Email: info@goldendragon.com.sg
Opening hours: 10am~830pm (Mondays to Saturdays), 1230pm~730pm (Sunday & Public Holidays*)
*Closed on Chinese New Year, Labor Day, National Day, New Year’s Day

When you can’t find your fabric and notions from all the above mentioned shops, there is one last place to go, Golden Dragon. I usually frequent Golden Dragon if I am desperate and can’t find what I want from my other favourite hunts in Chinatown. When I was making accessories rather actively (i.e. selling them as a pasttime), I buy some of my supplies from here as I can mix and match the Swarovski crystals/pearls of different colours rather than to buy them in fixed numbers.

I hope you have enjoyed this virtual tour of the fabric market at Chinatown and have a better idea of what you can find in Singapore!

32 thoughts on “Fabric Shopping in Singapore: Chinatown

    • Hi there!! Thank you for such comprehensive coverage on fabric… i am looking for those organic cotton type, like calico or organic muslin types for belly binding and wraps…by any chance have you ever came across it and does Maggie sell it? Thanks much ❤

  1. Thank you so much! I have been looking high and low for this kind of cotton muslin cloth. May I know how much it is, approx.?

    • Hi Vic,

      I’m glad it is useful to you. I’m not sure the exact price of the muslin you are looking for but I bought cotton lining from Maggie at $2/m. It’s just plain cotton which you can also use for muslin.

      Tiffany

  2. Thank you so much – only in Singapore for two days so this post has saved me a lot of time. Hoping to visit these stores today! Are they open seven days a week, do you know? Alison

    • Hi Alison,

      Glad to be of help🙂 I’m not sure about ALL the shops but Maggie and Malin are, unless they have something on. Best to visit after lunch/around noon. Happy shopping!

      Tiffany

  3. Hi
    May I know whether any of this shops sell synthetic leather? I’ve tried searching online but I couldn’t locate any shops!

    • Thank you Masyitah. Glad that it was useful to you. I am sure they have it but I don’t know which exact shop sells them. You might have to comb through the shops a bit to find the exact kind of crepe fabric you are looking for. I would suggest you start off at Maggie or Malin. They have a wide variety and are extremely helpful.

      Good luck!

    • Hi Nora, the fabric market is above the food centre but there are some shops featured in this post that are located at the people’s park centre.

    • Hi Breelyn, it really depends on what you buy. Japanese cotton generally from $12, other cotton might be cheaper. Lace and satin will cost more, depending on type and where they come from.

      Tiffany

  4. Hi! You’re so well-informed, thank you🙂 Do you know where I can get cheap chiffon as I would like to make an evening dress. Any cheap tailors to recommend? Thanks again!

    • Hi Sharon,

      You are too kind! Just sharing where I usually go to shop for fabrics🙂 hmmm for chiffon I really wouldn’t recommend cheap ones because it might not be of good quality. Might too thin or too sparse which makes it tear easily. You can try Maggie and Malin, they have some really beautiful plain and printed (silk) chiffons. If not, there is a Zhi Yong (or it could be Yong Zhi) that sells quality ones and lots of satin too. You might need the satin for the lining. They are located on the left side of the escalator.

      Are you looking for a tailor at Chinatown as well?

      Good luck and have fun!

      Tiffany

      • Thanks for the recommendations! I would like an affordable tailor. Don’t have a specific place. Chinatown has?

      • You can ask Maggie for recommendations at Chinatown if you are buying from her. If not I would recommend Regina Creations at Far East Plaza. Her workmanship is good.

  5. Hi, I’m looking for some small pieces around 1metres or under that can sale by kg/pound. Do you have any advise ?

    • Hello Kennie,

      I have not come across any that sells by weight. But if you are looking for fat quarters and such you can try Sin Mui Heng. If you are looking for fabric scraps, let me know as well. The Singapore Spoolettes are having a meet up soon. I’m sure we can all collect some for you.

      Tiffany

  6. Hi, thanks a lot for posting this! I’m currently searching for small mannequins (around doll-sized). Do you have any advice where to buy?
    Thanks!

    • Hi Melissa,

      Hope is is useful information for you. Small mannequins for sewing? I haven’t seen any around but I know Art Friend has small mannequins. Or you can try your luck at Sin Mui Heng.

      Good luck!

      Tiffany

  7. Hello Tiffany
    Thank you very much for all these informations. I´m from Luxembourg ( Europe ) and love to sew, so i´m looking for adresses to buy fabrics in Singapore :I stay there from this friday the 22 april to next thursday, one week to visit all these shops. Maybe my luggage will be overweight to turn back home. ( excuse me ,my english is not really good )
    Greetings from Luxembourg
    Tessy

    • Hi Tessy!

      It’a nice to hear from Luxembourg! Are you staying near Chinatown? The fabric market at Chinatown is not huge. Unless you intend to comb through all the places that sells fabric. Email me at hunnyxpot@gmail.com. Let me know how I can help! Like what kind of fabrics you are looking for etc.

      Tiffany

      • First shopping trip is done. We visitid Little India , Mustapha Center.And find there nice fabrics. Tomorrow is china town on our programm !

  8. Pingback: Un samedi couture | Quechua Land (in Singapore)

  9. Pingback: Sunday Stash #195 – Singapore Sling 01 – Molli Sparkles

  10. Hi Tiffany,

    I have been looking to replace my blanket- it is the old style plaid design (blue and white, with some orange), made of cotton. This is a simple, lightweight blanket I have been using for many years, I think it was purchased in one of the neighbourhood shops (the ones in the HDB areas, with the goods displayed outside the shops, ie on the corridors).
    I am based overseas now and back for a short holiday. It seems like these shops are no longer selling this sort of blanket anymore.
    I have tried going to Mustafa centre as well as Joo Chiat/Geylang Serai area, but their very limited amount of plaid/tartan type of cloth are not suitable for blankets as they are the very thin, harder and more rigid type of cotton.
    It is hard to explain but mine is like the traditional sort of blanket used for baby sarongs/to put on the baby cots.
    Do you know if Chinatown might sell this or where else I can look?
    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

