Fabric Shopping in Berlin, Germany

Fabric shopping in Berlin was rewarding! I was careful of my purchases since they are generally more expensive than what I can get at home. Nonetheless, I still had to get some, since it isn’t the best time to shop for clothes and shoes. I did my research prior the trip and found more bloggers sharing their fabric finds in Berlin, which made me excited to check them out. Most of the fabric are about 60″ (153cm) wide (so thankful that I have my friend to translate for me!)

 #1 Mauerpark Flea Market
Bernauer Straße 63-64
13355 Berlin, Germany
Opens Sunday 0700-1700

First stop of our Berlin itinerary was the Mauerpark Flea Market. We were lucky that it was not extremely crowded by the time we reached at around 3pm as there’s a couture carnival happening else where. It seems that the whole Berlin is at the carnival. My friend based in Berlin told me that this flea market has become very touristy over the years, so much so that Berliners do not really visit this market anymore.

The market houses a variety of stalls, from old records (in fact there were many record stalls) to young labels (not at flea market price), leather goods, second hand and some other miscellaneous stuff. There was only 1 fabric stall, and it’s the first stall that sell non-food product that I saw! Fabric was at flat rate of €3/m which is extremely affordable for European prices. My friend and I tried to ask for the material but the stall owner simply replied “stoffe” which means “material”. Based on touch, there were some cotton, jersey, and polyester mix.

IMG_2740
Here are  the floral pieces I got from the flea.

 

 

 #2 Frau Tulpe
Veteranenstraße 19
10119 Berlin, Germany
Monday – Friday 10:00 – 20:00
Saturday 11:00 – 18:00

Besides the flea market, I designated an afternoon for fabric shopping and sisters time with my friend while the guys visit the Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp. I didn’t want to bore 3 men with my own shopping and I prefer to shop for fabric at my own pace. Frau Tulpe is small but very well stocked with American and Japan cottons. Some from England and the region. They also have an extensive collection of notions and such.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Besides fabric and notions, they conduct regular sewing classes where hobbyists meet. If you are residing in Berlin and considering picking up sewing, you might like to check them out!

 

IMG_2741

My main purpose of checking out this store is for their Made in Germany fabric, at least I read somewhere that they have a small collection of them. I bagged home 1 piece of red floral cotton made in Cologne and another summery yellow organic cotton by Cloud9 fabric.
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset#3 Babie Lato
Schönhauser Allee 182A
10119 Berlin, Germany
Monday-Friday 1100-2000
Saturday 1100-1600

 

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

 

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Not far from Frau Tulpe (10-15mins walk based on my preggie speed) is Babie Lato which sells affordable organic fabric such as cotton, linen and silk. Affordable I mean generally in between €10-20, sometimes in single digit. There was a small stash of lace that is made from natural fibre, which I managed to grab the last meter of the navy piece at a very affordable price of €16/m. The lace is very sturdy, feels almost like Alençon lace. For the same quality in Singapore, 1m would probably cost at least SGD50. If only I knew about this shop 2 years back, I would gladly grab some for my wedding dress!  I also bought 2 pieces of linen.

IMG_2736

 

Besides these 2 shops that I visited, I also shortlisted 2 other but unfortunately there was not enough time.

Frieda Hain
Gärtnerstraße 10,
10245 Berlin-Friedrichshain, Germany
Monday-Friday 1100-1830
Saturday 1100-1700

Volksfaden
Crellestraße 17
10827 Berlin, Germany
Tuesday 10:00-15:00
Wednesday & Thursday 12:00-18:00
Friday 10:00-15:00
Saturday 12:00-16:00

———-
Update 18/06: I’ve washed all the fabric and they do not bleed! #goodstuffcannotbluff

One thought on “Fabric Shopping in Berlin, Germany

  1. Hi! Great to have found fellow Singaporeans who blogs about dressmaking. I love travel post about fabric!🙂 And guess what, I think I recognised you when I took classess at Kadomay.🙂

Leave a Reply

