The “Happily Ever After” Dress

175
The Inspiration
One of the sewing goals I set is to embrace more solids. Having sewn a red and orange number, yellow follows suit. This dress was made some time in December last year, but I didn’t have time to capture them decently on image. Here’s a couple to share from my engagement shoot!

114
The Dress
It is a fairly simple boat-neck dress in princess cut, which is one of my favourite cut and shape. I can make this in every possible colour!! I made it a little loose, which explains the pleats when I belt the dress. The hem is also slightly asymmetrical, with the back a tad long than the front.

The Fabric
There’s nothing fancy. Just basic cotton. What I really love about the fabric is the lemon zesty yellow, which happens to be one of Pantone’s Spring 2013 palette.

2 thoughts on “The “Happily Ever After” Dress

    • YX says:

      Thanks Mag! I got most of my cotton from local stores in Chinatown. If you happen to be in Singapore, you may like to pop by Chinatown. I have list of recommended stores on Fabric Finds on my blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

