L’zzie Dress

#8 is a fairly straightforward project: (attempt to) replicate the pink floral dress with a crochet sash from L’zzie. I discovered L’zzie during my student years and I fell in love with their apparels. The prints scream ‘ME’, the cut is perfect and most importantly, the dresses are very teacher-friendly. I told myself that I will buy a dress from L’zzie when I start to teach. However, I began to sew my own clothes by then! Every now and then, I will still pop by L’zzie for inspirations and this dress is one of them.

As I was eager to start sewing the pieces together, I decide to french seam the dress, rather than to break the momentum of sewing by sending it for overlocking the following day. It certainly does shorten the huge breaks in between the total time taken to complete the dress! This is also the first time I am handling silk chiffon and nope, it’s not a sewer’s friend. It slips fairly easily which may results in inaccurate alignment or untidy gathers. This is not the neatest dress I have sewn but nonetheless, here it is!

Fabric: Silk chiffon from Hanoi (approx. SGD 3/yard) and acetate lining (SGD2.50/m)
Notions: Crochet sash (SGD 2/yard)
Time to complete: 5 hours
First worn: July 2011
Wear again? Maybe after my arms shrink or I enlarge the armhole

Total Cost: SGD 9.50

Leave a Reply

