“Pretty in Pink” Dress

As I was rather pressed for time during the week, I decided to finish up an UnFinished prOject (UFOs from Sew Weekly on the Week of 28th March).

I embarked on the Anda journey earlier this year, just before school started but never got around to complete it. I had my first experience with ready patterns with Anda, and it was horrendous. Firstly, I had to tape the loose piece together, then figure out which size to use, cut, alter (it was too long for an Asian body and I am not tall to start with) and keep reminding myself of the given seam allowance. I thought ready patterns were as ready as it is but no! The amount of time I spent assembling and figuring the pattern out could be well spent to draw two patterns from scratch. No more ready patterns in the near future!


Anda is a popular and common pattern. Even brands such as See by Chloé, Mango and ModCloth have adopted it!


Fabric: Japanese cotton from local store (SGD$8/yard, used ~1.5yards; Sash was from another dress)
Notions: Bias tape and crochet trims
Time to complete: 7 hours (including figuring out the pattern)
First worn: May 2011 (to a dinner date)
Wear again? Yes!

Total Cost: SGD 15

Leave a Reply

